A LOVE STORY

A bit of Zurich in the Ticino canton

In 1940, Emma Rudolph-Schwarzenbach, a native of Zurich, bought some property in the heart of the settlement of Cassina d’Agno, not far from Lugano. The property included 10 acres of land, a barn and a house. Emma’s daughter, Magdalena Hutton-Rudolph, had a garden planted which included not only flowers, fruit trees, berries and vegetables, but also grapevines, which prospered.

So, a farm was founded.

Later, Magdalena transferred ownership of the property to her nephew Urs Rudolph who, after having received his degree in Agricultural Science, managed a farm that raised beef in Canada, as well as being the owner of a public relations firm in Zurich. In 1989 Urs moved to Ticino and founded the privately-owned Tenuta San Giorgio which took its name from the Collina San Giorgio, the hill on which the Tenuta sits.

The winery’s grapes

Almost immediately Urs Rudolph began to plant grapevines and he sold what he harvested to Daniel Huber in Monteggio, at the time already considered to be the leading light of vine-growers in the Ticino canton. Daniel Huber baptized the wine made from these grapes “Tenuta San Giorgio”.
The extraordinary quality of this wine convinced Urs’ youngest son, Mike Rudolph, to leave his consulting job and move to Ticino to produce his own wine.

Producing its own wine

In 2002 an initial section of the winery was constructed in which, for the first time, it could produce its own wine. Since then, the winery has continued to grow. In 2011, it was decided to expand the winery. Thanks to the addition of new plots of land, we are currently able to produce about 35,000 bottles of wine a year.

In Memory

Magdalena Hutton continued to live for a number of years with Urs and Monica Rudolph at the Tenuta San Giorgio, following with pride the evolution of “her” farm in Cassina, and passing at the venerable age of 100.

Story

Urs Rudolph in dem Rebberg, 1995

Story

Magdalena Hutton-Rudolph

Story

Emma Rudolph-Schwarzenbach

UNE HISTOIRE D’AMOUR

Un morceau de Zurich au Tessin

En 1940, Emma Rudolph-Schwarzenbach, originaire de Zurich, achète une propriété au cœur du village de Cassina d’Agno, non loin de Lugano. Ce domaine comprend quatre hectares de terre, une étable et une habitation. La fille d’Emma, Magdalena Hutton-Rudolph, y fait réaliser un jardin où prospèrent fleurs, arbres fruitiers, baies, légumes et salades mais également des vignes.

Ainsi a été fondée l'entreprise.

Plus tard, Magdalena cède sa propriété à son neveu Urs Rudolph lequel, son diplôme d'agronomie en poche, était parti gérer un élevage bovin au Canada tout en étant patron d’une agence de relations publiques à Zurich. En 1989, Urs part s’installer au Tessin où il crée l’entreprise individuelle Tenuta San Giorgio, du nom de la colline San Giorgio sur le flanc de laquelle s’étend le domaine.

Les raisins du domaine

Urs Rudolph a rapidement commencé à planter des vignes dont il vendait les raisins à Daniel Huber, de Monteggio, considéré à cette époque déjà comme l’un des vignerons les plus doués du Tessin. Daniel Huber a baptisé le vin issu de la vinification de ces raisins du nom de «Tenuta San Giorgio».
La qualité hors pair de ce vin a convaincu le fils cadet d’Urs, Mike Rudolph, d’abandonner son métier de consultant pour s’établir au Tessin et y produire son propre vin.

La vinification en interne

En 2002, il fait construire la première partie du chai afin de produire son propre vin pour la première fois. Depuis lors, l’entreprise n’a cessé de se développer. En 2011, il décide d’agrandir le chai. Grâce à la plantation de nouvelles parcelles, le domaine produit actuellement près de 35 000 bouteilles par an.

In memoriam

Magdalena Hutton a encore passé de nombreuses années auprès d’Urs et Monica Rudolph à la Tenuta San Giorgio, suivant avec bonheur l’évolution de sa «Cassina» et elle s’est éteinte peu après avoir soufflé ses 100 bougies.

Histoire

Urs Rudolph in dem Rebberg, 1995

Histoire

Magdalena Hutton-Rudolph

Histoire

Emma Rudolph-Schwarzenbach